Aesop’s Fables Main Lesson

 

7th December 2015 078

The last main lesson block I completed with Anusha last year was a grade 2 block on Aesop’s Fables.
7th December 2015 121

I used the book The Fables of Aesop by Joseph Jacobs. We read five fables, following the three day rhythm of reading a fable the first day, drawing a picture and writing a summary the second day, and doing an activity related to the story as well as reading the next fable the third day.

7th December 2015 080

My drawing for The Crow and the Pitcher

The first fable we read was The Crow and the Pitcher. Anusha and I drew our pictures together, sometimes with Anusha waiting to follow my drawing if she needed some guidance. I then wrote the summary on the board, Anusha helping me to compose it, and she copied it into her main lesson book.

7th December 2015 079

Anusha’s drawing and summary

Anusha is not using the golden path or stars with her writing anymore, finding them tedious, but I do still need to gently remind her about her spacing at times.

7th December 2015 082

Anusha’s crayon resist painting for The Crow and the Pitcher

The activity we completed for The Crow and the Pitcher kind of had nothing to do with crows! But I wanted Anusha to have a lot of say in the activities we did and she really wanted to do this one, one of the lessons on the website Art projects for kids that involved a bird! Art projects for kids has lots of easy to follow lessons that both the children enjoy doing, I haven’t visited it for years but it’s a great site to head to when in need of a fun art lesson that teaches different techniques.

7th December 2015 084My picture for The Dog and His Shadow

7th December 2015 083Anusha’s picture and summary

7th December 2015 086

Anusha’s drawing activity for The Dog and His Shadow (another lesson from Art projects for kids).

7th December 2015 088

My picture for The Fox and the Grapes

7th December 2015 087

Anusha’s picture and summary

7th December 2015 089

My painting for The Fox and the Grapes

The activity I chose for The Fox and the Grapes was a grade 2 wet-on-wet watercolour painting lesson from Painting and Drawing in Waldorf Schools. We did this together as I told the ‘colour story’ outlined in the lesson.

7th December 2015 090

Anusha’s painting

7th December 2015 092

My picture for The Town Mouse and Country Mouse

7th December 2015 091

Anusha’s picture and summary (we both really loved Anusha’s picture for this one).

7th December 2015 095

Anusha and my matchbox country mouse pets

I found this cute activity for The Town Mouse and Country Mouse on Red Ted Art.

7th December 2015 096

Elki even joined in for this one and created a rock mountain dragon matchbox pet 🙂

7th December 2015 093

My painting for The Town Mouse and Country Mouse

We also did a wet-on-wet watercolour colour story painting lesson for this fable, contrasting the light country and dark city homes of the mice.

7th December 2015 094

Anusha’s painting

7th December 2015 099

My picture for The Lion and the Mouse

The last fable was The Lion and the Mouse.

7th December 2015 098

Anusha’s picture and summary

7th December 2015 100

Anusha’s crayon drawing activity for The Lion and the Mouse (another lesson from art projects for kids).

We finished up there, not a huge block but I didn’t want it to become tiresome or too much of the same thing. Over the summer we’ll casually do some more second grade maths and gradually get ready for our new little family member!

One thought on “Aesop’s Fables Main Lesson

Leave a Reply

