A Waldorf Numbers Block – Part 2

Before our holiday break Anusha and I finished her first Maths block and I’ve been trying to get around to writing about it until now! We continued on with the story The Old Forest that I wrote for her and worked through the numbers 6-10. You can find parts 6-10 of the story here, or under my Stories menu.

We followed a similar rhythm to before, starting the lesson with movement, verses, and song. Some of the verses and songs we used included, ‘When I Was One I Had Just Begun’, ‘Counting Game’ (Molly De Havas, Journey Through Time in Verse and Rhyme), ‘Chook, Chook’ (The Singing Year, Candy Verney), ‘There Were Ten in the Bed’, from Eric Fairman’s A Path Of Discovery Grade 1, ‘Two Squirrels’, and from Christopherus Curriculum’s Joyful Movement, a favourite of Anusha’s ‘ Ten Tall Candles Stand in a Row’.

Two activities that Anusha really enjoyed was making and drawing a five-pointed star, and a figure eight. We spent some time walking the figures on the floor. Anusha and I walked the star together and she did it alone, then she tried drawing it in the air and on the blackboard,

29th July 2013 011

I wanted to try walking the star with each of us starting from different points but she found that a bit daunting. She loved drawing it though and surprised me with how easily she caught on!

When it came to walking the figure eight I asked Elki to join in and each of us started walking it from different points. We then walked faster and faster until we were going as fast as we could, both children loved this! Afterwards Anusha drew the figure eight in the air and on the blackboard, tracing it with all the different colours we have,

29th July 2013 104

Another activity we did for number eight was making some prints with paint. Anusha loved the feel of the paint on her fingers as she spread it over a sheet of baking paper that i stuck to our table. I simply squirted colours onto the paper, she mixed them with her hands, and then wrote the number eight with her finger,

29th July 2013 108

Then we made a print by firmly pressing a piece of paper onto the paint,

28th July 2013 036

Anusha had a lot of fun with this, we hadn’t done a painting activity like this for quite a while. She went on to make lots of different prints, and made some beautiful ones that I just love,

28th July 2013 043 28th July 2013 044 28th July 2013 045 28th July 2013 047

As we continued on through the number story, as we did with the numbers 1-5, Anusha copied the pictures I drew for each number into her main lesson book,

28th July 2013 037

My picture of six mountains,28th July 2013 029

Anusha’s picture.28th July 2013 038

My picture of seven Yellow-tailed Black Cockatoos,

28th July 2013 039

I actually made a mistake with this picture and drew nine gumnuts by accident, I must have been getting a bit tired! I fixed it up rather than drawing it all over again, the children found it rather amusing!28th July 2013 033

Anusha’s picture.28th July 2013 040

My picture of nine forest folk,28th July 2013 034

Anusha’s picture.

For number ten I decided we would paint a big picture of the old forest, to complete the story and block. This is what we made together,10th August 2013 281

Afterwards Anusha just wrote a big number ten in her main lesson book and she was finished!

Other things we did along the way was continue with the Arithmetic verses from Journey Through Time in Verse and Rhyme, and read ‘How six men got on in the world’, ‘The seven ravens’, and ‘The Gnome’ from Grimms. At the end of the block we also practiced counting in 1’s, 2’s, and 3’s whilst throwing a beanbag, did some skipping, and found out how many ways we could make ten with some rocks using this verse,

‘How many ways can you bring me ten?

Now think fast my merry little men.

Glad to be first, see Jack’s eyes shine,

as he quickly comes to me with 1 and …….’

(Journey through time in verse and rhyme)

Over the next couple of weeks I’m going to spend some time on form drawing with Anusha, and fingers crossed we’ll get a break in the rain and will be able to get out into the garden!

Leave a Reply

