Norse Mythology block – part 2

We have been having some holidays from homeschool lessons the past couple of weeks. We’ve had Anusha’s birthday and surprise visits for her from her grandparents, so we’ve had a very full house! Before our break we (just about) finished up Elki’s Norse mythology block.

We continued on as before working through the remainder of the myths in Charles Kovac’s Norse Mythology, reading two stories each day, and following the same rhythm. The first two were Thor & Thrym, and Loki’s Children,

28th July 2013 006Elki’s Summary

28th July 2013 003My picture depicting Loki with his children, the Fenris Wolf, the Midgard Serpent, and Hel,

28th July 2013 002And Elki’s picture.

We then continued on with Thor & the Giants, and Thor & Hrungnir,

28th July 2013 00928th July 2013 013My picture of Thor fighting the giant Hrungnir,

28th July 2013 011and Elki’s picture. His drawing shows Thor with a rock splinter in his head after his hammer Moilnir shattered Hrungnir’s rock hammer.

Next was Thor & Hymir, and Thor & Geirod,

28th July 2013 015

28th July 2013 018My picture showing Thor receiving the three gifts from Grid,

28th July 2013 017Elki decided to draw his picture differently, depicting Thor crossing the river to the giant Geirod’s house, and one of Geirod’s daughters.

Then Odin’s Justice and (sadly) The Death of Baldur,

28th July 2013 020Instead of drawing pictures for the story of the Death of Baldur I gave Elki a wet on dry watercolour lesson, using a lesson I bought from Syrendell.

28th July 2013 025My painting of Baldur, Hodur, and Loki,

28th July 2013 023Elki’s painting.

I found the lesson from Syrendell very helpful. I really needed more inspiration and practical ideas for approaching watercolour painting with Elki now that he is getting older. I really enjoy the process of watercolour painting but Elki finds it very difficult and quite frustrating at times. Scott told me he also used to find watercolour painting very difficult as well, so it is something I am trying to take a relaxed approached with and really just aim for Elki to enjoy the process, and not worry too much about the final outcome.

I also bought a wet on wet lesson from Syrendell of Loki, which I gave to Elki earlier on when we were working on the story of Loki’s children.

28th July 2013 027Here is my wet on wet painting of Loki,

28th July 2013 026and here is Elki’s. In this lesson we worked on some new techniques, such as, taking paint off with a clean brush, and trying to create more form with wet on wet than what we have in the past when Elki was younger. We were also lucky that during the school holidays here we were able to go to a wet on wet Norse mythology workshop that was held in Hobart by a local Waldorf teacher. I joined in, and after a story was told we all painted a picture of the Goddess Hel. Elki enjoyed this and it was good for me to see how a wet on wet painting lesson was approached by a trained Waldorf teacher.

And the last two myths we read were Loki’s Punishment and Ragnarok. We haven’t written a summary or created pictures for these yet. We are going to have a last lesson this week before moving onto a maths block next week. I am thinking that a big, colourful mural would be awesome for Ragnarok! Once we’re finished I will put all of Elki’s work together and make it into a book of Norse Mythology for him to keep. I really loved the Norse myths and thoroughly enjoyed reading them to Elki. The only criticism I have of Charles Kovac’s book was that at the very beginnnig and end he incorporated Christianity into the stories. I found this very unnecessary and out of place in a book of Norse myths and chose not to read these parts to Elki, and if you are not of Christian faith it may be something to consider if looking at a book to use for this block.

Next we are moving onto Maths. We will be working on Geometry and I will be introducing Elki to fractions. He even asked if his next block could be Maths, and I think we will both enjoy the change from Language/Arts work.

4 thoughts on “Norse Mythology block – part 2

Leave a Reply

