Norse Mythology block – part 1

We are now about half way through Elki’s Norse Mythology Block so I thought I’d write a post on how we are going so far! For this block I chose to use the Charles Kovac’s book Norse Mythology for Elki’s main lesson,

June 25th 2013 002
and for reading at bedtime I bought the Isabel Wyatt book Thorkill of Iceland, Viking Hero Tales.

June 25th 2013 003

This book includes two tales, Thorkill of Iceland and The Dream of King Alfdan. We recently finished reading Thorkill, which Elki really enjoyed, and are now about to start King Alfdan.

When getting prepared for Elki’s main lessons I knew I wanted to approach the days with the rhythm of reading a story one day, and the following day recalling the story read the previous day, drawing a picture with a written summary, and then reading the next story. I also wanted to attempt to complete the block in six weeks so I divided the stories in Charles Kovac’s book up so that we would be reading two tales each day (they are not very long). So, by the end of the block we will have covered the 19 Stories of the Gods, and the 3 stories of The Twilight of the Gods. There are also 4 Sagas in the book which I am going to read as bedtime stories.

I am preparing the pictures for Elki to copy but am giving him a lot of freedom to change the pictures or draw something completely different if he wants to. We are composing the summaries together, which I write down and then Elki copies.

We started with The Creation and Yggdrasil,

25th June 2013 014
My picture of Yggdrasil,

25th June 2013 013

Elki’s picture of Yggdrasil, including Odin, the Eagle at the top of the tree, and at the three roots, the giant Mimir, the three Norns, and the Dragon, there is also the little squirrel running up and down the tree.

Elki’s summaries,

25th June 2013 011 25th June 2013 012
Next was Human Beings are Made, and Odin and Mimir,

25th June 2013 016
My picture of Sol driving the Sun chariot chased by a great wolf,

25th June 2013 015
Elki’s picture of Sol and Mani driving the Sun and Moon chariots. We never got around to writing the summary for these stories so I’ve let them go.

Thor and Thialfi, and Freya’s Necklace,

25th June 2013 020
My picture of Heimdall confronting Loki with Freya’s stolen necklace,

25th June 2013 019
Elki’s picture of Heimdall and Loki battling as gods, fire and rain, and bears.

Elki’s summaries,

25th June 2013 017 25th June 2013 018

The Valkyries, and The Story of Idun,

25th June 2013 024
My picture of Idun picking her golden apples,

25th June 2013 023
Elki’s picture of Idun picking her golden apples, and Loki rescuing Idun as a Falcon, her as a Sparrow, being chased by Thiassi the giant as an Eagle.

Elki’s summaries,

25th June 2013 021 25th June 2013 022
The Story of Sif’s Hair, and The Making of Miolnir,

25th June 2013 028
My picture of Thor, Sif, and Loki after Loki returned Sif’s hair,

25th June 2013 027
Elki’s picture of Thor, Odin, and Loki after Loki brought the gifts the dwarf Dvalin made.

Elki’s summaries,

25th June 2013 025 25th June 2013 026

Loki’s Punishment, and Frey and Gerda,

25th June 2013 031
My picture of Frey’s servant Skirnir going to persuade Gerda to marry Frey, riding towards a wall of fire,

25th June 2013 030
Elki’s picture of Skirnir being chased by a wolf and riding towards the wall of fire.

Elki’s summaries,

25th June 2013 029
And that’s where we are up to at the moment! We are both loving the stories, they are a first for me too so I think I am learning just as much as Elki is! We are now continuing on with the stories and over the next three weeks I’m hoping to include some different activities like wet-on-wet watercolour painting, modelling, and some form of craft or handwork.

Throughout this block I have also included some other work. Each day we have been starting the main lesson with some active multiplication tables practice, I have given Elki two spelling lists of words from the Norse myth stories that we worked on each day, and Elki has been continuing his cursive writing practice. But more on that later!

Elki writing Norse myth summary

2 thoughts on “Norse Mythology block – part 1

  1. We will be covering Norse Myths next winter, so I am keen to see how you approached it. I’ve noticed that Kovacs isn’t mentioned so much for this block. Most homeschoolers seem to use the D’Aulaires book instead. I have Kovacs too but haven’t read it yet. What do you think of his version of the stories? I’m also planning cursive for 4th, so am looking forward to hearing how you both got on with that. Elki looks very happy in the photo – it looks like the Norse Myths are a hit! Cathy

    • Hi Cathy, thanks very much for your comment. I was originally going to use D’Aulaires for this block too, although I haven’t read the stories I had seen it recommended. I bought Kovacs because the shop where I buy my books didn’t have D’Aulaires and I was running out of time to prepare! I knew that kovacs is used for other blocks like botany etc and it was recommeded by the shopkeeper. We are both really enjoying the stories, they are written really well, the stories flowing on from one another, and I’ve found the book really easy to use and split up for each main lesson. I guess I don’t have anything to compare it with but I’d certainly recommend it. Cheers, Danielle.

Leave a Reply

